About Region 3

Region 3 consists of the cities of Danville and Martinsville; and the counties of Amelia, Brunswick, Buckingham, Charlotte, Cumberland, Halifax, Henry, Lunenburg, Mecklenburg, Nottoway, Patrick, Pittsylvania, and Prince Edward.

The Southside Planning District Commission serves as Region 3’s support organization. The support organization will provide fiduciary oversight and administrative services for activities related to GO Virginia in Region 3.

Region 3 At-A-Glance

Total Population
Total Employment
Unemployment Rate
Median Income Level

Advanced Manufacturing
High-Value Natural Resource Products
Business Services and IT Data Centers
Professional Services

Regional Priority Industry Clusters

Council Members

Charles Majors, Chairman
Randy Lail, Vice-Chairman
Scott Burnette
Tim Clark
Barbara Johnson
James McClain II
Ronald Roark
Al Roberts
Larry Ryder
Roger Scott
Karl Stauber
Sherry Swinson
Denise Taylor-Forrest
C. R. ‘Bob’ Timmons
Telly Tucker
Lauren Willis
Dennis Witt
Nicole Young

Regional Resources

Recent News

Danville Register and Bee
July 8, 2019
The Gazette-Virginian
July 5, 2019


Liz Povar

Notice: The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) is the state agency responsible for administering the GO Virginia program. Any documents supplied on this page are sourced directly from DHCD. Please forward any administrative questions to DHCD.