About Region 5

Region 5 consists of the cities of Chesapeake, Franklin, Hampton, Newport News, Norfolk, Poquoson, Portsmouth, Suffolk, Virginia Beach, and Williamsburg; and the counties of Accomack, Isle of Wight, James City, Northampton, Southampton, and York.

Reinvent Hampton Roads serves as Region 5’s support organization. The support organization will provide fiduciary oversight and administrative services for activities related to GO Virginia in Region 5.

Region 5 At-A-Glance

Total Population
Total Employment
Unemployment Rate
Median Income Level

Port Operations, Logistics and Warehousing
Advanced Manufacturing
Cybersecurity, Data Analytics and Mod-Sim
Ship Building and Ship Repair
Water Technologies
Unmanned Systems and Aerospace

Regional Priority Industry Clusters

Council Members

Thomas R. Frantz, Chair
Anne C. H. Conner, Vice Chair
Kenneth Alexander
Shawn Avery
Roland “Butch” Bailey
Timothy J. Bentley
Bruce Bradley
John R. Broderick
Robert A. Crum
John T. Dever
William B. Downey
Jack L. Ezzell, Jr.
Michael Gentry
Maria Herbert
Jeffrey Holland
Michael Kuhns
Eric Miller
Jerry Miller
J.D. Myers, II
John Olson
McKinley Price
John F. Reinhart
Frank Roach
William D. Sessoms, Jr.
Jeffrey Smith
Bryan Stephens
Bruce Thompson
Thomas G. Tingle
Gary Warren

Regional Resources

Recent News

Inside Business
September 10, 2018
The Virginian-Pilot
August 28, 2018

Upcoming Events

Nov 8
10:00 am


James Spore
President & CEO

Notice: The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) is the state agency responsible for administering the GO Virginia program. Any documents supplied on this page are sourced directly from DHCD. Please forward any administrative questions to DHCD.