About Region 2

Region 2 consists of the cities of Covington, Lynchburg, Radford, Roanoke, and Salem; and the counties of Alleghany, Amherst, Appomattox, Bedford, Botetourt, Campbell, Craig, Floyd, Franklin, Giles, Montgomery, Pulaski, and Roanoke.

Virginia Tech’s Office of Economic Development serves as Region 2’s support organization. The support organization will provide fiduciary oversight and administrative services for activities related to GO Virginia in Region 2.

Region 2 At-A-Glance

Total Population
Total Employment
Unemployment Rate
Per Capita Income

Trade, Transportation, and Utilities
Education and Health Services

Largest Employer Sectors

Council Members

Marla Akridge
Dr.  Eddie Amos
Dr.  Nathaniel Bishop
Ab Boxley
Dr.  John Capps
Kenneth Craig
Patrick Collignon
Beverly Dalton
Sandy Davis
Dr.   John Dooley
Michael Fleming
Watt Foster
William Fralin
Dr.  Michael Friedlander
Don Halliwill
Mike Hamlar
Dr.  Brian Hemphill
Dr.  Victor Iannello
Terry Jamerson
Doug Juanarena
Floyd Merryman
Debbie Petrine
John Putney
Dr.  Ray Smoot
E.W. Tibbs
Shannon Valentine
John Williamson

Regional Resources

For other news and updates, please visit Region 2’s blog here.

Recent News

The Roanoke Times
January 7, 2018
The Roanoke Times
December 19, 2017


John Provo

Notice: The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) is the state agency responsible for administering the GO Virginia program. Any documents supplied on this page are sourced directly from DHCD. Please forward any administrative questions to DHCD.