About Region 6

Region 6, also known as the Mary Ball Washington Regional Council, consists of the city of Fredericksburg; and the counties of Caroline, Essex, Gloucester, King and Queen, King George, King William, Lancaster, Mathews, Middlesex, Northumberland, Richmond, Spotsylvania, Stafford, and Westmoreland.

The George Washington Regional Commission serves as Region 6’s support organization. The support organization will provide fiduciary oversight and administrative services for activities related to GO Virginia in Region 6.

Region 6 At-A-Glance

Total Population
Total Employment
Unemployment Rate
Median Income Level

Seafood Processing / Aquaculture / Commercial Fishing
Forestry / Wood Products / Paper
Logistics / Distribution
Information / Data Centers
Professional, Scientific and Technical Services

Regional Priority Industry Clusters

Council Members

Marla Akridge, Alleghany Highlands Economic Development Corporation
Fred Armstrong, Wiley Wilson
Dr. Nathaniel Bishop, Jefferson College
Ab Boxley, Boxley Materials Company
Dr. John Capps, Central Virginia Community College
Kenneth Craig, Liberty University
Beverly Dalton, English Construction
Sandy Davis, BCR Property Management
Dr. John Dooley, Virginia Tech Foundation
Watt Foster, Foster Fuels
William Fralin, Medical Facilities of America
Dr. Michael Friedlander, VT Carilion Research Center
Don Halliwill, Carilion Clinic
Mike Hamlar, Hamlar-Curtis Funeral Home, PAC director
Dr. Brian Hemphill, Radford University
Dr. Victor Iannello, Radiant Physics, Radiant Ventures (R&D)
Terry Jamerson, Roanoke Times
Dr. Pareena Lawrence, Hollins University
Floyd Merryman, Sonny Merryman
Marty Muscatello, FoxGuard Solutions
Debbie Petrine, Commonwealth Care of Roanoke, VT BOV
John Putney, Town of Bedford IDA
Georgeann Snead, EDM Inc.
Dr. Ray Smoot, Union Bank and Trust
John Williamson, RCG Resources

Regional Resources

Recent News

Upcoming Events

Apr 8
11:00 am
Jun 10
11:00 am
Aug 12
11:00 am


Kate Gibson
Senior Planner

Notice: The Virginia Department of Housing and Community Development (DHCD) is the state agency responsible for administering the GO Virginia program. Any documents supplied on this page are sourced directly from DHCD. Please forward any administrative questions to DHCD.